Warmachine – A Colossal Undertaking – Part 1 Reasons and Unboxing

So, as i have state a long time ago I love the Galleon and now I have renounced the Cyriss cogboys and their ways I am in a new position.

I can finally add a Galleon to my army.

So, I bit the bullet and ordered from the excellent Troll Trader who got it to me in 18 hour, with their trademark excellent customer service.

In the end it was a combination of factors, The good rules, the P+S 21 basic weapon that could drag anything in base to base for a good kicking. But in the end it came down to one thing.

The figure itself. Beautiful stylised to seem cobbled together like all mercenary jacks, I wanted to paint this as a centerpiece.

My goodness that was an excellent decision.

Warmachine Galleon Colossal box

I decided to do a full breakdown of putting this army centerpiece together, so this article will be the first in the series. In my next article, I’ll start the assembly with the Torso and Legs.

So firstly the box is meaty and looking at it i was expecting big box – much padding (looking at you gun mages) and it isn’t at all. Its ram packed with bits and i know its in the name but this colossal is big.

In fact here is all the parts laid out, just to give you an idea of how much they cram in:

Warmachine Galleon Colossal bits

So the first things that strikes me is how this wouldn’t be possible without plastic/restic or whatever it’s called. The weight of the arms in metal would simply repeatedly pull them off the main body time after time. It’s also clear PP’s casting has come on leaps and bounds since the retribution being sued as guinea pigs, although there was a few minor mold issues, on the whole it cleaned up quite well.

One last thing, this isn’t some child’s toy like a Vanguard or a Behemoth. Its something special, and special things deserve a name.

So over the next few weeks and months I hope you will join me as I build, assemble and paint the pride of the resistance, the Magnum Opus.

Comments, as always, are welcome.

Leave a Reply

